Rimrock Lodge is the oldest continuously operating resort in the Northern Black Hills, and ideally situated to enjoy all of the scenic and historic sites in the region!
The Original Prospector's Cabin
(The Great Room)
It all begin in 1919, when a prospector seeking his fortune in the canyon settled on the rim high above Spearfish Creek. He built himself a one-room cabin which we use today as our Great Room in the main lodge. The original exposed beams and rustic architecture add unique historical value to the Rimrock Lodge and we are proud to have preserved this piece of Black Hills history to share with our guests.
Mary Bridge, dean of women at Black Hills State College, purchased the Prospector's Cabin c. 1934. She built the grand old lodge, the Gold Pan restaurant addition, and remaining cabins, turning Rimrock Lodge into a thriving resort business. Rimrock has hosted many events, nature lovers and tired travelers over the years, we invite you to be a part of our legacy.
The 1970s - The Grand Lodge
The grand old lodge at the top of the rim (pictured at right and top) burned down New Year's Day,1979. A piece of clothing left to dry on a chair in one of the rooms, hung too close to a heater and caught fire. It burned down the grand old lodge leaving only remnants of the old fireplace to show that it existed. Wonderful memories of cooking steaks and fresh caught trout over the great fires in the fireplace, playing pingpong and shuffleboard, dances and weddings, and listening to the creek and the pines at night have stayed with us through the years. Some of Walt and Clara's kids met their spouses and were married at the old lodge. Who knows, maybe you will meet somebody special here, too!
Walt and Clara Ziebart purchased Rimrock Lodge in 1977. Clara stayed at Rimrock Lodge as a Girl Scout in her youth and never forgot how much she loved her experience here. Clara was a wonderful cook and managed the Gold Pan restaurant in the lodge for over a decade. Walt's expertise behind the espresso bar and Clara's meal and a half omeletes made Rimrock Lodge a popular weekend destination for the locals (and kept the grandkids busy helping out in the kitchen).
The Gold Pan is not in operation today, but we still serve the meal and a half omelete for guests during the Sturgis Bike Week. Walt and Clara's children and grandchildren still run the business today. Rimrock Lodge remains a much loved family institution for family events, retreats, weddings and vacation getaways.